Of Stardust

^link to buy Of Stardust posted above^

My Rating: 2 stars

Plot:

“Dreams are sacred…”

At the age of twenty-six single, geeky bookseller Till Nesbitt inherits the shock of a lifetime: a huge Victorian farmhouse filled with unique tenants, and the knowledge that there is a reason she’s always been different. She’s destined to become a Fairy Godmother, because the skills are written into her DNA.

Till embarks on her fairy education at Dreams Come True University with much trepidation, guided on her journey by a unique mentor: a Celtic hybrid with a secret by the name of Gus.

When Till falls head over heels for Gus, will she break the most serious law in the Fairy Code, or will the truth of what really happened to Gus’s parents keep them from repeating history?

My Review:

Wow, this book was terrible. When I first started reading it, I really liked it. The first few pages were great. The main character, Till, worked at a bookshop (yay!) and seemed like a likable enough character. However, as the story progressed, the plot made lesser and lesser sense, and the writing style rapidly deteriorated. Certain word choices made the 26-year-old sound like she had the mind of a 14-year-old.

I really hated how there was NO DETAIL. None. I couldn’t even visualize Dreams Come True University (DCTU). I thought the idea of a fairy going to this institute was a great one, but I was disappointed with the idea’s execution. The book was horribly written, the characters’ personalities were flippy-floppy, and again, I truly felt like I had been swung into the confused whirlwind of a temperamental tween’s mind.

**TEMPORARY SPOILER** And WHY IN THE WORLD would Till and Gus use their One Wishes for something so selfish and plain stupid after knowing each other for such a short time? It seemed to me like Gus had been around for a while, and I doubt Till was his first “fling”. So why use BOTH their wishes for ONE NIGHT without (as the book stated that they should) even telling each other about it to begin with? Weren’t they supposed to warn the other before burning it or something like that? Anyway, I think it was stupid and shallow of them to use their wish on what they did. Why not wish for a world where they can marry, or something to that effect? I could tell that the One Wish thing was supposed to be the climax of the story, but it didn’t even seem like that big of a deal to me. **SPOILER OVER**

Gus speaks with an Irish accent (since he was born in Ireland). He spoke with the same (annoying and unattractive, in my opinion) accent throughout the whole book and reminded me of an old man, to be honest. But listen to this. He always, always said “ye” instead of “you” due to his accent. I noticed, though, that in one paragraph, he magically changed his accent and said “you” a few times! Character flop.

I get that this author isn’t famous. I get that. And that explains why it was pretty crappily written as opposed to the bestsellers I’m accustomed to reading. But this was just awful. I originally planned on rating this 1 star, and I would have had it not been for her wide vocabulary; I was impressed by that. But that was the only thing I was impressed by.

It just seemed like a lot of things were only partially explained or left unanswered, and I was not a fan of this book. At all. So in my opinion, if you’re thinking about reading it, don’t.

But I included the link anyway.

Tell me what you think!